unboxed marketing

group therapy for marketers and business owners

david meerman scott responds to…me?

Posted by Steve Buchholz on March 10, 2009

I was way out of my league today.

It always feels a little weird when you step out of your league

It always feels a little weird when you step out of your league

I responded to a blog post by David Meerman Scott today after it struck me that many of his recent posts were designed to pimp his new book, World Wide Rave. Typically, Scott’s posts are excellent. They have been stuffed with useful content that marketers can read and use.

That seems to have changed recently, and I posted my thoughts. I wrote:

It’s interesting that David encourages us to write “great content that buyers will want to consume,” when just about every post he has written recently is designed to do one thing-sell his new book.

In post after post, David unabashedly promotes his book. How about giving your readers something useful instead? How about showing readers why we should buy your book rather than constantly telling us we should buy it?

David is an expert who can help his readers improve their marketing abilities. I certainly need help, and that’s why I visit this site. That’s why I bought and recommend “The New Rules.”

However, I’m not sure this new promotional strategy is completely tuned in.

Not long after, Scott responded. Not surprisingly, he disagreed. And he didn’t refrain from jabbing me a bit at the end:

 

Steve, Not sure what you’re talking about here. Yes, I am linking to my book in this post, but I feel like I am offering value with the post. From the other comments, I think others have gotten value.

I am not talking about the book itself in a post like this but merely using the title of the book in the text and offering a link.

I don’t recall once ever saying “you should buy my book”. (Maybe I have, but I don’t recall).

I would contrast that with a post (that I almost never do) that just talks about the book and why you should buy it.

By the way, World Wide Rave released last week, so I do want people to know that it is now available.

But anyway, thanks for the feedback.

David

I admit that I might be completely wrong in my criticism. I have an enormous amount of respect for Scott, and I cherish his book, The New Rules of Marketing & PR. But it seems clear to me that he has been violating his own advice with his new book’s promotional campaign. I’m still going to buy it, but I’ll feel just a little bit dirty doing it.

I do, however, thank David for responding to my criticism. It’s kind of cool to engage in a conversation with someone you admire.

5 Responses to “david meerman scott responds to…me?”

  1. Hey Steve,

    Again, I’m sorry that you feel that way, but it is not my intention at all.

    There is no way that I write a post thinking about how it will sell books. I write valuable content and if I can link to one of my books somewhere, I do.

    I write blog posts about what I am thinking at the time.

    For example, last week I was in Eastern Europe giving some keynote speeches. I think it is cool and so do many of my readers who reached out to me, that “New Rules” is published in 23 languages including Lithuanian, Turkish, and Latvian (three of the countries I visited last week).

    To link to my books in those languages in the posts I did last week is what was on my mind last week that I wanted my readers to know about. This was NOT something I dreamed up just to sell a few books in Turkey, Latvia, and Lithuania…

    By the way, my first name is David, my middle name is Meerman and my last name is Scott. Feel free to call me “David” but if you use my sirname, it is “Scott”.

    Take care,

    David

  2. David: Sorry about the sirname mistake. I’ll fix that.

    I’m glad to hear it’s not your intention. And I appreciate you engaging in a conversation about it. You’re a stand-up guy.

    All the best,

    SB

  3. If you have a Kindle or iPhone, he’s giving the book away free on Kindle for the next 4 days. That strategy is completely tuned in.

  4. […] better walk the talk. I recently wrote about David Meerman Scott and inconsistencies I saw between his marketing suggestions and his […]

Leave a Reply

 
