unboxed marketing

group therapy for marketers and business owners

walk the talk

Posted by Steve Buchholz on March 24, 2009

Credibility is power. Or maybe it’s the other way around.

Either way, if you want to put yourself out there as some kind of expert,

businesses need to walk the talk of their marketing promises

businesses need to walk the talk of their marketing promises

you better walk the talk. I recently wrote about David Meerman Scott and inconsistencies I saw between his marketing suggestions and his marketing practices. I just ran into something similar with another new marketing author.

Paul Gillin’s book, The New Influencers, is good. It’s a great introduction to the use of social media (especially blogging) in your marketing strategies. I recommend the book.

However, in at least one footnote and at the end of the book, Gillin encourages readers to visit newinfluencers.com. So I did. I wanted to read the promised resources and check for updates. Too bad the link takes you to a site for something called Mambo. I have no idea what that is, but it appears to have nothing to do with Gillin or his book.

This can happen, I guess, so I went to paulgillin.com for better directions to the New Influencers website. I found a link to “New Influencers book,” clicked on it, and found myself…back at Mambo.

Marketing is a promise to customers. When we fail at delivering on our promises, customers begin to doubt your credibility. Do that enough and customers will lose all trust. It’s tough, if not impossible to recover from that. That’s more true today than ever. Survey after survey shows that most customers do not trust what businesses say.

We all will make mistakes, but we can’t let them stand. We need to fix them as soon as possible. We need to remember that our marketing is our promise. And we need to fulfill our promises by living our marketing.

2 Responses to “walk the talk”

  1. Sorry about the dead site. My redirect isn’t working and my hosting provider hasn’t been able to fix the problem. The site is at http://paulgillin.com/newinfluencers.

Leave a Reply

 
